LaBRI - C.N.R.S.

INRIA Université Bordeaux 1 Université Michel de Montaigne Bordeaux 3

LACL 2005

Fifth International Conference on

Logical Aspects of Computational Linguistics

28-29-30 April 2005


Submission deadline: monday 3 january 2005



LACL conference series

LACL-2005 is the 5th edition of a series of international conferences on logical and formal methods in computational linguistics. It addresses in particular the use of proof theoretic and model theoretic methods for describing natural language syntax and semantics, as well as the implementation of natural language processing software relying on such models. A selection of the 1995 articles appeared in a special issue of the Journal of Logic, Language and Information (7:4, 1998). The proceedings of the international conferences LACL`96 ,LACL`97, LACL`98 et LACL`2001 appeared in the series Lecture Notes in Artificial Intelligence (volumes 1328, 1582, 2014, 2099) published by Springer.


Computer scientists, linguists, mathematicians and philosophers are invited to present their work on the use of logical methods in computational linguistics and natural language processing, in natural language analysis, generation or acquisition.


Submission format and publication

Articles should be written in the LaTeX format of LNCS/LNAI by Springer should not exceed 16 pages (including figures, bibliography, possible apendices). Articles, in PDF format, should be sent by email to Accepted papers, after revision if needed, will be published as a volume of the LNAI/LNCS series by Springer-Verlag.


Scientific inquiries:

Philippe Blache

Edward Stabler

Practical inquiries :

Joan Busquets

Richard Moot

Brigitte Larue-Bourdon +33 5 40 00 69 30

Important dates:

Paper submission deadline :
monday 3rd january 2005
Notification of acceptance :
  monday 14th february 2005
Camera-ready papers due :
  monday 28th february 2005
LACL conference :
  thursday 28th, friday 29th, and saturday 30th april 2005

Program committee

Philippe  Blache CNRS LPL Aix-en-Provence
Edward Stabler University of California, Los Angeles CA
other members
Johan  Bos University of Edinburgh
Joan Busquets Université Bordeaux 3 & ERSS-CNRS & INRIA-Futurs
Henning Christiansen Roskilde Universitetscenter, Roskilde
Veronica  Dahl Simon Fraser University, Vancouver
Denys Duchier INRIA-Lorraine & LORIA, Nancy
Marc Dymetman Xerox Research Center Europe Grenoble
Sandiway Fong University of Arizona, Tucson AZ
Kim Gerdes Université Bordeaux 3 & ERSS-CNRS & INRIA-Futurs
Philippe de Groote INRIA-Lorraine & LORIA,Nancy
Gerhard Jäger Universität Potsdam
Marcus Kracht University of California, Los Angeles CA
Alain Lecomte Université Grenoble 2
Uwe Mönnich Universität Tübingen
Michael Moortgat Universiteit Utrecht
Richard Moot CNRS LaBRI
Glyn Morrill Universitat Politècnica de Catalunya, Barcelona
Gerald Penn University of Toronto
Christian Retoré Université Bordeaux 1 & LaBRI-CNRS & INRIA-Futurs
Maarten de Rijke Universiteit van Amsterdam
James Rogers Earlham College, Richmond IN
Vijay Shanker University of Delaware, Newark DE
Mark Steedman University of Edinburgh

Organizing committee

Busquets Université Bordeaux 3 & ERSS-CNRS & INRIA-Futurs
other members
Amblard Université Bordeaux 1 & LaBRI-CNRS & INRIA-Futurs
Philippe Biais CNRS LaBRI
Karine Cabandé CNRS Délégation Régionale Aquitaine et Poitou-Charentes
Girard INRIA-Futurs
Larue-Bourdon INRIA-Futurs
Lassartesses Université Bordeaux 1
Annie Nadeau CNRS Délégation Régionale Aquitaine et Poitou-Charentes
Retoré Université Bordeaux 1& LaBRI-CNRS & INRIA-Futurs